By Raptors 905 | April 19, 2017

The NBA announced Wednesday that Raptors 905 head coach Jerry Stackhouse has been named winner of the Dennis Johnson Trophy as NBA D-League Coach of the Year for the 2016-17 season.

In his first season as the Raptors 905 head coach, Stackhouse led the team to its first Central Division titleand a league-best 39-11 mark, including an NBA D-League record 21-4 on the road.  The second head coach in franchise history, Stackhouse guided the team to a 16-game improvement over last season. Raptors 905 was the only team in the NBA D-League to hold its opponent to less than 100 points per game this season.

In December, Stackhouse received the only Coach of the Month award in team history, directing the 905 to a then team-best 9-3 record for the month.  Raptors 905 improved the following month, finishing January with a 10-2 record and once again in March, finishing the season with an 11-2 record in the month.  Stackhouse guided 2016-17 NBA D-League Defensive Player of the Year Edy Tavares and 2017 NBA D-League All-Star Axel Toupane to GATORADE Call-Ups Tavares to the Cleveland Cavaliers and Toupane to the New Orleans Pelicans and Milwaukee Bucks.

The NBA D-League Coach of the Year award is named for the late Hall of Famer Dennis Johnson, a star NBA guard and NBA D-League coach.  During his playing career with the Boston Celtics, Phoenix Suns and Seattle SuperSonics, Johnson won three NBA titles, played in five NBA All-Star Games and was named to the All-Defensive First Team six times.  He was in his third season coaching in the NBA D-League when he passed away in 2007.  The award was also won in 2010-11 by current Toronto Raptors assistant coach Nick Nurse, then head coach of the Iowa Energy.